Aurora Health Care Medical Group President Appointed to Federal Committee Focused on Medicare Reimbursement

October 09, 2015

Milwaukee – Jeffrey Bailet, MD, executive vice president at Aurora Health Care and president of Aurora Health Care Medical Group, has been appointed to serve on the Government Accountability Organization’s Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee.

After a highly competitive nomination process, Dr. Bailet has been appointed to the 11-person advisory committee, which will advise the Secretary of the Department of Health & Human Services on sustainable Medicare physician payment models.

The committee was established through the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015, a law requiring Medicare to develop a system of value-based reimbursements to health care providers.

“Dr. Bailet’s appointment to the Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee is a testament to his overall experiences and leadership that have shaped health care in Wisconsin,” said Gerard Colman, Aurora Health Care’s chief operating officer. “As a physician leader in one of the largest health care systems in the nation, Dr. Bailet brings a unique understanding of the current reimbursement models and has been instrumental in finding better ways to deliver the best in quality care to our patients. We congratulate Jeff on this well-deserved honor.”

Under Dr. Bailet’s leadership, Aurora Health Care has been a top performer in the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Premier Healthcare Quality Incentive Demonstration project for providing high quality, efficient health care. A recent study by the Greater Milwaukee Business Foundation on costs of Wisconsin health care providers found that average commercial payments for Aurora Health Care services increased 7 percent from 2003 through 2012, less than one-tenth the national average and the lowest increase compared to other Southeast Wisconsin health care providers.

Dr. Bailet’s nomination received support from Congressional leaders, advocacy groups, trade associations and other not-for profit health organizations.

“I am extremely honored to be chosen for this appointment,” Dr. Bailet said. “CMS has determined that by 2018, 50 percent of physician reimbursements will be based on alternative payment models, and this percentage will only continue to increase. This committee will be instrumental in advising the Secretary of Health & Human Services on sustainable payment models as healthcare transitions to a value-driven model. This work will help guide the establishment of appropriate incentives for physicians, recognizing their efforts for providing the highest quality care in the most affordable way, benefiting patients across the country.”

As president of Aurora Health Care Medical Group, Dr. Bailet oversees nearly 1,700 physicians and 800 advance practice clinicians across Aurora Health Care’s 180 clinics and 15 hospitals in Wisconsin and Illinois. For the past seven years, he has served as chairman of the Aurora Physician Compensation Committee, overseeing implementation of innovative compensation arrangements for all physicians, specialists and advanced practice clinicians throughout Aurora Health Care.

Dr. Bailet also serves as secretary and executive committee member of the American Medical Group Association and is a member of the Wisconsin Medical Society board of directors. He has routinely served as an advisor on payment methodologies and given presentations to medical professionals, national trade associations and government policy makers.

Aurora Health Care is a not-for-profit Wisconsin-area health care provider and a national leader in efforts to improve health care quality. Aurora offers services at sites in more than 90 communities throughout eastern Wisconsin and northern Illinois. Aurora is Wisconsin's most comprehensive health care provider and the state's largest private employer. Aurora serves more than 1.2 million patients every year via a comprehensive network of facilities, services and providers, including 15 hospitals, 159 clinics, 70 pharmacies and 30,000 amazing caregivers. As evidenced by more than 400 active clinical trials, Aurora is dedicated to delivering innovations to provide the best possible care today, and to define the best care for tomorrow. Get helpful health and wellness information via the Aurora MyHealth blog, our Facebook page, our Twitter account and our Pinterest account.

# # #

Mo Moorman
(414) 299-1688

News Media Resources

Public Relations Guidelines and Procedures

The public relations team at Aurora Health Care operates under the following guidelines and procedures:

To arrange interviews, press should call public relations. A member of our team can help access a specialist. If the person a reporter requests is not available, we may be able to provide an alternative source.

Protecting the privacy of patients and families is our responsibility; it's also the law. Please do not come to our sites unannounced. Rather, contact public relations and we will find experts for interviews and connect you. We'll also make an effort to contact patients upon your request to ascertain their interest in being interviewed.

Ensuring patient confidentiality and privacy, and exhibiting sensitivity to all of the patients, families and employees at Aurora Health Care is of vital concern. Therefore, reporters, film crews and photographers must always be accompanied by a public relations team member while on any of the campuses.

To be photographed or videotaped at Aurora Health Care, patients or their legal guardians must sign a consent form. A member of our public relations team can arrange this.

Because of the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) patients over 18 or their legal guardian must complete a release form before anyone who works at Aurora Health Care can release confidential information about a patient. A member of our public relations team can arrange consent

Reporters inquiring about a patient’s condition should contact a member of our public relations team, with the individual's full name.